Modern British jazz maverick 1968 debut reissued with bonus tracks


Artist: Howard Riley Trio
Title: Discussions
File: Jazz/Avant-Garde
Label: Dusk Fire
Form: CD Digipak
Cat: DUSKCD114
Barc: 5065001032257
Release: 04.12.2015

“ … a fascinating maverick on the British improv avant-garde of the 1970s. He’s an enduringly valuable presence.” John Fordham, The Guardian
• First ever reissue of Howard Riley’s 1968 debut (only 99 copies pressed)
• Featuring Jon Hiseman and Barry Guy
• 1000 ltd. edition run
• High quality digipak inc. 8-page booklet with new notes by the artist + archive images
• Previously-unreleased bonus tracks



A pioneering contributor to the burgeoning modern British jazz scene of the late 1960s and early 1970s, Howard Riley was – and has remained – one of the genre’s most original and individual talents.
This new reissue of his Trio’s highly collectable 1968 debut release – only 99 copies pressed make it one of the most sought-after releases by collectors – features the talents of rising stars Jon Hiseman and Barry Guy and is enhanced by the inclusion of previously-unreleased recordings of Riley’s first trio of 1960.

The choice of material is broad, the key point being, as Riley puts it, ‘to render it freely and interpretively, to let players take it in directions of their choosing’.

The original eight tracks were down in single takes, the band choosing music that members’ felt represented their aim, mixing and matching styles and moods, ranging from covers to Riley’s own compositions.
In 1967, hard categories like ‘free jazz’ had not come into being. The very absence of categorisation led to a greater openness and freedom for Riley and musicians sharing his aims.
‘Discussions’ set him on the road to record with David Howells at CBS, Peter Eden at British indie Turtle, and subsequently with other labels in the UK and continental Europe, right up to the present day.
This Dusk Fire reissue of the album comes in a high quality digipack with a comprehensive booklet containing new notes by Peter Muir and Howard Riley along with period images and two previously unreleased recordings of a very young Riley’s 1960 trio recorded at the Grenier Blanc Club in Huddersfield.

1. Sweet and Lovely
2. Romance
3. Nardis
4. Sunflower
5. Children At Play
6. Spring Is Here
7. What’s New
8. Folk Theme No. 1


9. Just One Of Those Things
10. September In The Rain
“ … a wonderfully empathic musician. Riley’s history is a testament to the notion that, often, individual excellence is achieved in the context of a collective of equally empathic, articulate peers.”
Duncan Heining, All About Jazz
Further information:
Released by Market Square Music Promotion T 01280 308010



Comments are closed.